Unrequited … Ill-fated …

I walked a thousand miles

In sombre solitude

To reach the very core of your heart

As close as my conflicted mind could allow!

 

I poured a thousand gazes

At your gorgeous self

To drink in your audacious beauty

As much as your sensitivity could bestow!

 

I thought a thousand times

Just to be sure

My poor and wretched soul

Was in love with a princess, beautiful!

 

I wrote a thousand letters

Only to tear them up

As it seemed a story too good to be true

But eventually I found the courage to do the inevitable!

 

I knew I was late when I saw you:-

As you held his hand;

Unaware you walked past me as you beamed

And I stood there helpless and forlorn!

 

I uttered a thousand prayers

As I wished you happiness

While I got drowned in sadness

And away you went; then … you were gone!

3 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Random

3 responses to “Unrequited … Ill-fated …

  1. yourothermotherhere

    Faint heart never won fair maiden.

    On the bright side, if this really happened, it’s never too late right up until the point she gets married, to win her back.

Leave a comment